The Screencast-O-Matic video editor stores all edits to recordings in a historical timeline. This allows users to move backward and forward within the timeline history to remove or restore past edits.
Key reasons to use this feature:
- Revert back to a point in edit history with more clarity than just hitting Undo
- Compare two points in the history of edits
Edit History Window
To view the edit history window, you will need to be editing a recording. From the content manager, click on any recording. In the lower right window, click on "Edit".
Once in edit mode, you can see the dropdown arrow that will show edit history. Click on this arrow, and you'll see the Edit History window appear (shown inside the pink rectangle).
Above, you can see the first edit in the history -- "Created". The date is shown above denoting when these edits were completed.
Add to Edit History
Adding to the edit history is simply done by making edits. Try a few of the following edits and watch the edit history grow:
- Add an Arrow first
- Edit the Arrow you just added
- Delete the arrow you just added
- Add some text
- Modify the text
- Modify the same text again
- Add a caption
The edit history will now look like the following after all the above actions are performed.
Revert to a previous point in the edit history
Now that you have these edits, you can move backward to an edit of your choosing. Follow the instructions below to revert to an older edit.
First, select the "Text Added" event with your cursor in the edit history window.
Now add a new edit. In this case, I added an outline.
You can see above that we reverted to when the text was added. The minus sign shows what edit steps are effectively removed; and the plus signs show where the new edits are placed in the timeline. Once we add a new edit after our revert (we added the outline), then this revert is officially saved as a step in the timeline and we move forward having removed the edits that came after the original(the minus signs).
Can I revert a revert edit?
Of course. As the all steps are saved in the timeline (no deletions), you can revert to any edit in the timeline that you desire. If you select a revert edit to revert to, it will be added to your timeline and you will continue from that selected revert point.
Can I delete edits in the timeline?
Not at this time. One bonus of having the timeline is you can make as many edits as you like and you will never lose them. Deleting edits would only save an insignificant amount of space.
Are changes in edit history synced with the secure backup feature?
Yes. At the point in time that your recording is backed up in the secure vault, then your entire edit history is backed up with it. You can restore on a different computer with this extended update history.
What happens to edits made offline when using the secure backup feature?
The edit history of the last computer that had the Screencast-O-Matic recorder online will be backed up into the secure vault.