The Screencast-O-Matic video editor stores all edits to recordings in a historical timeline. This allows users to move backward and forward within the timeline history to remove or restore past edits.
Key reasons to use this feature:
To view the edit history window, you will need to be editing a recording. From the content manager, click on any recording. In the lower right window, click on "Edit".
Each date that you edited the recording will be listed with detail edit steps included.
Adding to the edit history is simply done by making edits. Each time you make an edit to your video it will show up in the history.
Now that you have these edits, you can move backward to an edit of your choosing. Follow the instructions below to revert to an older edit.
First, select the "Text Added" event with your cursor in the edit history window.
You can see above that we reverted to when the text was added. The minus sign shows what edit steps are effectively removed; and the plus signs show where the new edits are placed in the timeline. Once we add a new edit after our revert (we added the outline), then this revert is officially saved as a step in the timeline and we move forward having removed the edits that came after the original (the minus signs).
Yes. All edits are saved in the timeline (no deletions) so you can revert to any edit in the timeline. If you select a revert edit to revert to, it will be added to your timeline and you will continue from that selected revert point.
Can I delete edits in the timeline?
Yes. At the point in time that your recording is backed up in the secure vault, then your entire edit history is backed up with it. You can restore on a different computer with this extended update history.
The edit history of the last computer that had the Screencast-O-Matic recorder online will be backed up into the secure vault.