Enable and manage commenting on a video

Enable and manage commenting on a video

Enable comments on your video

You can allow viewers to add text and video comments to your videos by enabling the comment setting on the Video Details tab. To do this, follow the steps below.

1. Log into your Screencast-O-Matic account and click My content at the top of the page.


2. In the Videos area, hover over the video for which you want to enable commenting and click Details.


When you click Details, the video opens in the preview area and several tabs are displayed to the right.

3. On the Video Details tab, scroll to the bottom. Under Publish Video, select the checkbox for Allow viewers to comment.


Manage comments

You can reply to and delete any comments left by viewers, if necessary. 

1. Hover over a video in the Videos content area and click the Open Link button.


This opens the link to your video in a separate tab. Below the video you can see any comments that have been left by your viewers. To reply to a comment, click the Reply button () and then enter your response. To delete a comment, click the Delete button () and then confirm that you want to remove the comment.

Enable Commenting for members of a Team Plan

As a Team Admin, you can choose to allow viewers to comment on the content published by members of your team or disable commenting. To configure commenting, follow the steps below.

1. Log into your account as a Team Owner or Team Admin.
2. Click Users in the menu at the top of the page.



3. Select Content Hosting from the menu on the left.
4. Scroll down to the Commenting section.


5. If you want viewers to be able to comment on the content that is published by members of your team, select the checkbox next to Allow viewers to comment on content.
6. Next, select one of the following options:
a. If you want commenting to be enabled automatically on newly updated videos, select Automatically enable commenting on new uploads.
b. If you do  not want commenting to automatically be enabled for newly updated videos, select Do not enable commenting on new uploads.

Individual team members can still change the Allow viewers to comment setting on each video they upload.

    • Related Articles

    • Team Admin: Enable the commenting feature for your team

      Enabling Commenting for Team Accounts With a Team Plan, you can activate commenting for the members of your team.  Once this feature is enabled, team members can allow their viewers to comment on their videos. 1. As a team admin, click your user ...
    • How do I edit a video project across my team?

      You can edit your team or co-worker's video editing files, also known as .somrec files.   To share your video files for editing with your team, you will need to export them from your Content Manager.   Content Manager Click on 'Manage Recordings' and ...
    • Manage video projects

       Manage video projects The Screencast-O-Matic application has a robust set of features for managing your local video projects.  This article talks about how to use the Manage Video Projects check box to make multiple selections and perform actions ...
    • How to enable ScreenPal Video Preview on a site

      ScreenPal Video Preview is a feature that enables you to experience videos without having to open them and leave the webpage you are currently visiting.  With ScreenPal Video Preview, when you hover over a video link (or a thumbnail), the video plays ...
    • Team Plan Admins: Enable or Disable Upload Endpoints for the Screencast-O-Matic App

      Team Plan Admins: Enable or Disable Upload Endpoints for the Screencast-O-Matic App The Screencast-O-Matic desktop application allows a user to publish their recording to a video file or upload their recording to services including ...